Zimbabweans not allowed into Europe after lockdown

indafrica June 30, 2020
Updated 2020/06/30 at 3:57 PM

Zimbabwe is not among the 54 world countries set out benefit from the reopening of the European Union’s external borders, which is expected to happen by the beginning of July.

The list of countries was compiled following this criteria:

epidemiological situation and coronavirus response in that country,
the ability to apply containment measures during travel, and
whether or not that country has lifted travel restrictions towards the EU.

Sources who spoke to Euronews said EU officials failed to agree on a common list of the countries that would definitely be banned from entering the EU when borders reopening on July 1.

EU officials however managed to create a list of the countries with a better epidemiological situation, whose citizens will be able to enter Europe by the end of this week.

The same sources told Euronews that nationals from Brazil, Qatar, the US and Russia will only be able to enter Europe at a later date when the epidemiological situation in their countries improves.

The draft list comes after an EU Commission presented its recommendation on the reopening of the bloc’s internal borders on June 15.

This was to allow Europeans to travel within the borderless area freely, just as they did before the covid-19 pandemic.

At the same time, the Commission recommended that the Member States should start allowing third-country nationals to enter the EU starting from July 1, gradually and partially, based on the epidemiological situation in each third-country.

African countries on the list include; Angola, Namibia, Mozambique, Egypt, Uganda and Rwanda.

Nationals of the following countries are listed in the draft list:

1. Albania
2. Algeria
3. Andorra
4. Angola
5. Australia
6. Bahamas
7. Bhutan
8. Bosnia and Herzegovina
9. Canada
10. China
11. Costa Rica
12. Cuba
13. Democratic People’s Republic of Korea
14. Dominica
15. Egypt
16. Ethiopia
17. Georgia
18. Guyana
19. India
20. Indonesia
21. Jamaica
22. Japan
23. Kazakhstan
24. Kosovo
25. Lebanon
26. Mauritius
27. Monaco
28. Mongolia
29. Montenegro
30. Morocco
31. Mozambique
32. Myanmar
33. Namibia
34. New Zealand
35. Nicaragua
36. Palau
37. Paraguay
38. Rwanda
39. Saint Lucia
40. Serbia
41. South Korea
42. Tajikistan
43. Thailand
44. Tunisia
45. Turkey
46. Turkmenistan
47. Uganda
48. Ukraine
49. Uruguay
50. Uzbekistan
51. Vatican City
52. Venezuela
53. Vietnam
54. Zambia

Share this Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.