Tshabangu successfully cripples Chamisa… 13 more MPs recalled


Sengezo Tshabangu, the self-imposed interim secretary general of the Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC), has called back five senators and thirteen additional lawmakers from the legislature.

Amos Chibaya (Mkoba), Tapfumanei Madzimbamuto (Seke), Oliver Mutasa (Zvimba East), Stephen Chatiza (Goromonzi West), Admore Chivero (Chegutu West), and Gift Ostallos Siziba (Pelandaba-Tshabalala), the deputy spokesperson for the opposition, are among the recalled MPs.

Tshabangu, who removed 15 MPs, 9 senators, and council members in October, is carrying out his most recent round of recalls.

CCC members objected when Speaker of the Parliament Jacob Mudenda’s recalls concluded, claiming they had been given an injunction prohibiting further recalls.

Speaking to reporters upon his departure from parliament, CCC chief whip Amos Chibaya stated that the party had petitioned the High Court for an injunction to prevent the Speaker from recalling other lawmakers.

Speaking earlier, party attorney Obey Shava stated that Sengezo Tshabangu, who has proclaimed himself the party’s secretary general, has ordered the Speaker, the Minister of Local Government, and the President of the Senate to temporarily prohibit any more recalls of CCC MPs and council members.

It appears that the nation will hold by-elections, scheduled for December 9, 2023.

Tshabangu’s recall of CCC members—despite the main opposition party’s disavowal of him—made this necessary.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *